The President of the Republic

The President of the Republic

Bắn cá rồngRwanda is an independent, sovereign, democratic Republic led by the President of the Republic who is also the Head of State. The President of the Republic is the defender of the Constitution and the guarantor of national unity. The President of the Republic is elected for a five (5) year term and may be re-elected once.


The President of the Republic of Rwanda

Paul Kagame is President of the Republic of Rwanda. In 2019 he was elected Chairperson of the East African Community, and has been leading the institutional reform of the African Union (AU) since 2016. President Kagame is currently Chairperson of the AU Development Agency New Partnership for Africa’s Development (AUDA-NEPAD) as well as African Union Leader for Domestic Health Financing.

Bắn cá rồngBeginning in 1990, as commander of the forces of the Rwandan Patriotic Front (RPF), he led the struggle to liberate Rwanda. The RPF halted the Genocide against the Tutsi in 1994, which claimed over a million victims. The hallmarks of President Kagame’s administration are peace and reconciliation, women’s empowerment, promotion of investment and entrepreneurship, and access to information technology, a cause he also champions as Co-Chair of the Broadband Commission for Sustainable Development. He tweets @PaulKagame. You can follow President Kagame’s daily work @UrugwiroVillage.